Creamy peanut chicken

Peanut chicken 2 My boyfriend went away to Germany for a few weeks and while I missed him very much, it was an opportunity for me to go back to eating some of my favourite spicy foods. Unfortunately what I didn’t realise was that after 2 years, my tastebuds had forgotten all about chilli. Though I was following an old, well-used recipe, I ended up having to eat my dinner with a big cold glass of milk just to soothe my tongue.

So I decided to tone it down a little and try something new, with lots of flavour but a little less zing. And that’s where this peanut chicken comes in. It has a smooth, creamy sauce and quite delicious. You can also spice it up a little more, or leave out the chilli entirely. The first time I made this I used coconut cream instead of coconut milk and there was less sauce but it was creamier so it’s up to you to decide which you prefer.

 

Creamy peanut chicken

Serves 4

Ingredients

4 cups cooked rice (jasmine)
2 garlic cloves
3cm fresh ginger
1 tbsp vegetable oil
400g chicken breast
200g vegetables (brocoli, green beans, snow peas, baby corn…)
400mL coconut milk
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp sriracha sauce (or a pinch of chilli flakes)
1 lime
coriander (to garnish)

Instructions

Start by cooking the rice if you don’t have any on hand.

Meanwhile, mince the garlic and grate the ginger then sauté both in the vegetable oil on medium heat for about 2 minutes until fragrant. Cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces and add to the pan. Cook for 10 minutes until lightly browned and cooked through. At the same time, steam the vegetables (or defrost) then put aside.

Turn the heat down to low and add the coconut milk and peanut butter. Stir until properly combined and dissolve any browned bits on the bottom of the pan. Once the sauce is smooth, add soy sauce, brown sugar, sriracha and the juice from half a lime. Stir to combine, taste and adjust, then add the vegetables. Cook for another 10 minutes until properly heated.
Peanut chicken 1
Serve immediately with chopped coriander and rice.

Enjoy!

Any thoughts?

