Lemon tart

_DSC7049

I finally got around to using the frozen lemons that have been sitting in my freezer for weeks. Since I bought three to make lemon cheesecakes before realising I only needed the zest…of like half a lemon. Anyway, I love lemon tart so I’m not complaining! I just hope that my boyfriend approves, or I’ll have to eat the whole thing by myself… Uh-oh.

Though you may not have realised it yet, given the few recipes I’ve put on here up ’til now, I actually don’t have much of a sweet tooth. Sure, I like chocolate, but the dark nutty kind. When I was a kid, I ate two full bags of marshmallows, and then threw them right back up, I’ve hated them ever since. I still have a bag of hazelnut meringues someone gave me about 6 months ago. I eat one every month or so when I feel guilty, then I put them back in the cupboard and promptly forget about them. Anyway, you get the point.

This is why I love lemon tart so much, it has just enough, well, tart, to save it from what could be a sugary mess. Now, you could also double the sugar, or add a thick layer of meringue to the top of your tart, and you are totally free to do that… But I’m not going to show you how! ;)

_DSC7050

Lemon tart

(Without meringue)

Serves 8-12

Ingredients

For the base

125g butter, in cubes
200g plain flour
50g icing sugar
lemon zest (optional)
1 egg yolk
1-2 tbsp iced water

For the filling

250mL heavy cream
125g caster sugar (I use less)
5 eggs
125mL lemon juice
lemon zest (from 2 lemons)

Directions

For the pastry, mix the butter, icing sugar, flour and lemon zest in a food processor until it looks like rough bread crumbs. Add the egg yolks and pour the water in one tablespoonat a time, mixing the whole time, until the mixture comes together.

Roll the mixture out into a disc on a well floured surface, before wrapping in plastic and chilling in the fridge for 15 minutes. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius (350 Fahrenheit).

_DSC7024

Lay the chilled pastry in the tart case. Line with baking paper, then fill with baking beans, dried beans, rice or other weight (I use lentils) before baking for 10 minutes. Remove the weights and paper and bake for another 10 minutes. Remove from the oven and reduce temperature to 100 degrees (210).

While the pastry is baking, prepare the filling by heating the cream and sugar in a saucepan until small bubbles appear around the edges. Be careful not to allow the mixture to boil.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk the eggs. Once the cream-sugar mixture is ready, slowly pour it into the eggs, whisking continuously. Then add the lemon juice and zest and combine.

Strain the mixture then pour carefully into the tart base. Bake the tart for 50 minutes, until the center is barely set.

Allow to cool at room temperature before putting the tart in the fridge. Serve chilled with thick whipped cream or ice cream.

_DSC7042

Enjoy!

14 thoughts on “Lemon tart

    • lilimunro says:

      They are quite easy to use. They’re a fair bit softer inside though, so I recommend cutting them when they’re half frozen, but they seem juicier to me. Also, if you slice some half-frozen lemon and put them in some water, not only does it give it a nice lemony flavor, but you also don’t have to add any ice so it makes a nice summery drink.
      Thanks for stopping by! :)

      Like

      • Selma's Table says:

        I am going to try this as I bought too many the other day not realising I had half a dozen at home already. Thanks for the tip – love lemony water and it is really good at alkalising the body too apparently..

        Like

  1. Stacey Bender says:

    I’m with you about sweets. Although, as a kid, I ate nothing but, or so it seemed. Lemon tart is a nice treat and yours looks particularly good; not too gooey and not too tall.

    Like

  2. trixpin says:

    I do like marshmallows, but I also love a good ol’ leon tart WITHOUT the mallow topping, and yours is no exception – it’s such a vibrant colour and the pastry looks incredibly thin!
    I also hope your boyfriend approves, although it wouldn’t be such a hardship to eat the whole lot yourself, I’m sure ;)

    Like

Any thoughts?

